Discover Burlington Ontario

Attention: Please be aware, due to the age of this blog post, some content and links may be out of date.

Music in the Open Air – 2015

by Pam Belgrade

There is nothing like hearing music played live… you see the artist setting up and interacting with the band and crowd, you get to know them more through the comments between songs and you hear their emotion and passion coming through the lyrics and notes.  Some of my most vivid memories have been attending open air concerts and having that spine tingling moment when they captivate the crowd.

Last weekend I had a few of those moments listening to artists Deric Ruttan and Chad Brownlee at the Sound of Music festival.  Even though the festival is over for another year, visitors and residents can continue to enjoy wonderful music throughout the summer at various venues. We encourage you to check the websites below for up to date information and to ensure outdoor concerts are happening if weather is inclement.

Royal Botanical Gardens Music Nights

Imagine enjoying red hot jazz, cool blues or country music surrounded by beautiful gardens in picturesque Hendrie Park.  What a fabulous way to enjoy a warm summer evening at the RBG Garden Music Nights.  I am looking forward to catching the Reklaws and Lovelocks in July before they head to Boots and Hearts.  Garden admission is required.  Music Nights is held under a tent so it is offered rain or shine!

music15Red Hot Jazz & Cool Blues Wednesdays

June 17 – September 9 – 6- 8:30pm at Hendrie Park RBG

·        Wed June 24 – Melissa Lauren

·        Wed July 1 – TBD

·        Wed July 8 – Red Hot Ramble

·        Wed July 15- Melissa Bel

·        Wed July 22 – Ghost Town Blues Band

·        Wed July 29 – Jack de Keyzer

·        Wed August 5 – Heillig Manoeuvre and Alex Tait

·        Wed August 12 – Diana Panton

·        Wed August 19- Carlos del Junco and the Blues Mongrels

·        Wed August 26 – Jay Douglas

·        September 2 – Brant Parker

·        September 9 – Eliza Pope

Country Tuesdays

June 23 – August 11 6– 8:30pm at Hendrie Park RBG

·       Tues June 23 -South Mountain

·        Tues June 30 – TBD

·        Tues July 7 – The Reklaws

·        Tues July 14 – The Lovelocks

·        Tues July 21 – The Rizdales

·        Tues July 28 – Ally Howatt

·        Tues August 4 – Brad Battle

·        Tues August 11- Me and Mae

Concerts in the Park

Bring your visiting friends and family to the free music concerts offered by the City throughout the summer. You can bring a blanket or lawn chair and enjoy an evening of music under the open sky at the Central Park Bandshell.  Concerts are at 7:30 -9 pm every Wednesday & Sunday from June 21 to Aug. 16.  A great option if you have family members participating in other activities at Central Park!  If there is inclement weather, concerts will move inside the Music Centre if possible.

·        Sunday, June 21 Burlington Teen Tour Band Junior Redcoats
·        Wednesday, June 24 Broadway Goes Jazz
·        Sunday, June 28 Al Hirsch Orchestra
·         Sunday, July 5 Andre Bisson
·        Wednesday, July 8 Touch of Klez
·        Sunday, July 12 Lincoln Concert Band
·        Wednesday, July 15 Caledon Concert Band
·        Sunday, July 19 George Rose Big Band
·        Wednesday, July 22 Little Peter and the Elegants
·        Sunday, July 26 Dixieland Plus
·        Wednesday, July 29 Swingline
·        Sunday, Aug. 2 Royal Hamilton Light Infantry
·        Wednesday, Aug. 5 12/4 Swing
·        Sunday, Aug. 9 Oakville Wind Orchestra
·        Wednesday, Aug. 12 Subourbon Street
·        Sunday, Aug. 16 Burlington Concert Band

water st. cooker exteriorDinner and Entertainment

There are a number of indoor venues which feature music while you enjoy a great meal or refreshments.  The artists are often local talent who are thrilled to play to a hometown crowd.  Some locations also have patios where you can hear the band but also enjoy being out under the stars.  This is a perfect date night option (hint, hint!) or celebrate a birthday or other event.  Check out the websites to find out if you need to make reservations, if there is a cover charge etc.

Summer is short so enjoy the fair weather by taking in a concert or dining el fresco while listening to marvelous music in Burlington.

Jazz on the Plaza

Friday evenings from 6:30-8:30pm at the Burlington Performing Arts Centre enjoy Jazz on the Plaza.  Free concerts and cash bar available.

  • Friday August 7 – Jude Johnson
  • Friday August 14 – Mike Malone
  • Friday August 21 – Joel Haynes & the Jazz Collective
  • Friday August 28 – Micah Barnes

tourburlgirl

 

 

 

 

One Response to “Music in the Open Air – 2015”

Leave a Reply