St. Luke’s Anglican Church
1382 Ontario Street, Burlington 905-634-1826
Year built: 1834
Summer- Sunday 8:15 am, 10:00 am; Wednesday 10:00 am
Winter- Sunday 8:15 am, 9:30 am, 11:15 am; Wednesday 10:00 am
Surrounded by stained glass windows and beautiful carvings, St. Luke’s is the oldest church in Burlington. It was originally built in 1834 and later consecrated in 1838. St. Luke’s is built on the land which was originally given to Joseph Brant, the famous Aboriginal leader, for his services during the American Revolution. Joseph Brant left the land to his daughter, Elizabeth, and she donated it for the construction of St. Luke’s. In its over 180 years St. Luke’s has had only ten Rectors, many whom went on to become Bishops, and many whom are buried in the church’s cemetery. A Self-Guided Walking Tour Handout is available in the Parish Hall for a donation. A Historical Tour of Burlington handout, through Heritage Burlington may also be picked up in our Parish Hall, Tourism Burlington or Burlington City Hall.
Knox Presbyterian Church
461 Elizabeth Street, Burlington 905-333-3013
Year built: 1845
Church services: Sunday 10:30 am
In 1845 Andrew Gage (the son of Burlington’s founder, James Gage) donated a swath of land, in order to facilitate the construction of a church. The initial structure was very small and by 1877 a larger church was needed. Consequently, the original church was moved to the back of the lot, in order to serve as a Sunday school. Later, the two structures were bricked and attached. The current structure boasts 12 unique stained glass windows imported from Scotland.
Lowville United Church
Year built: 1872
Church services: Sunday 9:30 am
Joseph Colling, the first farmer in the Lowville area, donated his land to the church in 1846. Prior to the construction of the church, services were held in a school on the north-east corner of Britannia Road and Guelph Line, and in a frame building on the present site, which was later replaced with the current brick structure. At that time it was named the Colling Church, and in 1855, it became the Lowville Wesleyan Methodist Church. It became one of 25 churches in the Nelson circuit. The present church was built in 1872 from orange bricks from the Bronte area.
Nelson United Church
2437 Dundas St. West, Burlington 905-335-9394
Year built: 1859
Church services: Sunday 11:00 am
Nelson United’s history extends back to the first settlers in Nelson Township, which is the present day city of Burlington. In 1809 Moses McCay, received the patent to 200 acres of land, and in 1830 he sold one acre to the Trustees of the Methodist Episcopal Church. At this time, a small frame church with a gallery was built. In 1854, David Springer bought 100 acres and sold half an acre to the Trustees of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In 1859, the current stone church was built, and one year later a Sunday school was built to meet the needs of the expanding congregation.
Ukrainian Catholic Church
419 Pine Street, Burlington 905-634-6598
Year built: 1861
Church services: Sunday 9:00 am in Ukrainian, 10:45 am in English